UPDATE: After the publication of this post, Bailey’s announced the recipe contained beeswax. Due to feedback from the vegan community, Bailey’s revamped the recipe to make it completely vegan. The new product, released to stores on March 2017, now carries a ‘vegan’ label on the bottle.
2,300 glasses of Baileys are consumed every minute, and soon vegans will be able to indulge, too! The company famous for its ultra-creamy liqueurs just introduced a vegan Baileys almond milk-based spirit to its award-winning line. Dubbed Almande, the new drink blends “luscious, nutty flavors of real almond milk and real vanilla” to create a light and refreshing taste.
Their almond milk base is made from sweet almond oil and an almond essence, which they extract from crushed almonds, as well as cane sugar, purified water and vanilla. Of course, the full ingredient list of Almande is top secret, but they say it contains absolutely no dairy and is also gluten-free. This new product won’t only benefit vegans, but people with dairy dietary restrictions as well.
Vegan Baileys Recipes
Baileys suggests three ways to drink Almande. One way is to simply pour it over crushed ice. Another way is to blend it with ice for a refreshing frozen frappe. And lastly, to mix it with coconut water and pour over ice for a perfect cruelty-free summer cocktail. For a drink with a caffeinated kick, pair it with one one of Kahlua’s many vegan options for a classic White Russian. Or get ready for some vegan Baileys Irish Car Bombs with Guinness, who announced last year that it would completely veganize its production.
You know the vegan movement is thriving when even the alcoholic beverage companies are taking note! As a matter of fact, all companies are starting to come around. Recently, one of the most loved ice cream companies in the world, Ben & Jerry’s launched dairy-free ice cream. The new vegan Baileys Almande just began shipping earlier this month, so you should see it in stores very soon.
To check Bailey’s Almande, or any other alcoholic drink, for common allergens such as dairy, eggs, and shellfish visit www.DrinkIQ.com. Enjoy responsibly.